Being a responsible driver in the state of Wisconsin means staying educated on auto insurance laws. Wisconsin motorists must prove financial responsibility by purchasing liability insurance. Penalties for failing to maintain coverage may include a suspended license and reinstatement fees.
Wisconsin auto insurance requirements are subject to change.
For a discussion on how Wisconsin car insurance
laws, and a clean driving record may translate into better auto insurance rates, locate an Auto-Owners independent agent
near you today.
Wisconsin Liability Insurance
Beginning June 1, 2010, liability insurance became mandatory for vehicles registered in Wisconsin. Wisconsin’s Tort (non no-fault) system makes it important to verify that you and your family are adequately covered in the event of an accident. The minimum requirements for liability insurance in Wisconsin include:
- $50,000 Per Person for Bodily Injury
- $100,000 Per Accident for Bodily Injury
- $15,000 Per Accident for Property Damage
- $10,000 for Medical Payments
- $25,000 Per Person for Bodily Injury
- $50,000 Per Accident for Bodily Injury
- $10,000 Per Accident for Property Damage
- $1,000 for Medical Payments
Uninsured & Underinsured Motorists
According to Wisconsin auto insurance requirements, your provider must offer Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist coverage. The current minimum levels for both coverages are $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident for Bodily Injury coverage. Beginning November 1, 2011, the minimum limits will be reduced to $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for Uninsured Motorist coverage, and $50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident for Underinsured Motorist coverage.
Also known as providing proof of insurance, Wisconsin has a financial responsibility law designed to ensure
that any license-carrying motorist has the finances necessary to pay for damages resulting from an accident.
Purchasing insurance with Auto-Owners ensures you will meet all financial responsibility requirements to legally
drive in Wisconsin.
Texting Laws in Wisconsin
Legislation regarding motorist safety is always evolving. The use of mobile devices while driving is an area of the law which has recently received increased attention. Wisconsin state law now prohibits driving "any motor vehicle while composing or sending an electronic text message or an electronic mail message." Texting while driving is considered a primary offense in Wisconsin, meaning motorists may be stopped for texting only.
Auto-Owners Insurance Agencies
For an up-to-date discussion on Wisconsin driving laws and how certain violations may affect your car insurance rates, contact an Auto-Owners independent agent near you today.
Ready to learn more?