Special Message

IL Flooding 2017

For Illinois Policyholders


In response to the recent significant flooding, the state of Illinois has imposed a moratorium on the cancellation or nonrenewal of policies for affected policyholders in the following counties: Carroll, Cook, Henry, Jo Daviess, Kane, Lake, Lee, McHenry, Ogle, Rock Island, Stephenson and Whiteside.

The moratorium will apply retroactively to July 12, 2017 and will remain in effect until September 30, 2017, unless extended.  Cancellation and nonrenewal notices issued on or after July 12, 2017 on any in-force policy issued to an affected policyholder or for affected property will be withdrawn and the policy will be reinstated with no lapse in coverage.  This moratorium will also apply to additional counties, if any, that become subject to Illinois Bulletin 2017-03.

This moratorium applies to Property/Casualty, Life, Disability Income and Long Term Care policies.  It does not apply to Flood policies. Policyholder requested cancellations are not subject to the moratorium.  In addition, during this period, any policy provision or other requirement that imposes a time limit on any policyholder or claimant in the impacted area to perform any act is also deferred by at least 60 days.

This moratorium is not a waiver; it is only an extension of the grace period in which to pay the premium or comply with any policy provision that imposes a time limit to perform any act.  It only applies to policyholders directly impacted by the storms and residing within the affected area.

Unless otherwise allowed under Illinois law, we will refrain from canceling or nonrenewing insurance policies for affected property because of "increase in the risk originally accepted" or because of the geographic location of the risk.

You may call the Department’s toll-free complaint hotline at 1-866-445-5364 or file a complaint at: https://mc.insurance.illinois.gov/messagecenter.nsf.